When can you take relief on an embedded ball in golf?

When can you take relief on an embedded ball in golf?

This should be easy – Rule 16.3 allows you to take relief whenever your ball lies in its own pitchmark in the general area. “Embedded” means that part of the ball is below the level of the ground (so not if is just “sitting down” in a grassy lie.

What is the embedded ball rule in golf?

Under the embedded ball rule, which is Rule 16.3 of the Rules of Golf, golfers are entitled to free relief from a situation in which their ball becomes embedded in the general area (also known as "through the green"), which includes everywhere on the course that’s not teeing ground, putting surfaces, bunkers and hazards.

Where can a ball be embedded in the sand in golf?

New Rule: The previous default position in the Rules is reversed: Rule 16.3 allows relief for a ball embedded anywhere in the “general area” (that is, the area previously known as “through the green”), except when embedded in sand.

Can You Drop a golf ball that is embedded in another?

Assuming the ball is both embedded in the general area and you’re allowed to take relief, you can drop your original ball or another ball. You need to establish a relief area and, first, a reference point for it. That’s the spot “right behind” where the ball is embedded.