Why was Patrick Reed penalized two strokes at the Masters?

Why was Patrick Reed penalized two strokes at the Masters?

Reed was eventually penalized two strokes for violation of Rule 8.1 for improving his lie. Afterward he accepted the penalty but added that a different camera angle, as opposed to directly behind him, would have showed he did not improve his lie. (The penalty proved costly, as Reed ended up losing by that margin to Hero champ Henrik Stenson.)

What did Patrick Reed do wrong at the Hero World Challenge?

Patrick Reed plays out of a bunker at the Hero World Challenge in the Bahamas. Reed was penalised for clipping sand during practice swings at the event. Photograph: David Cannon/Getty Images

What happened to Patrick Reed at Augusta State?

Reed transferred to his hometown Augusta State, but the smoke never fully cleared. Wie reported other instances of suspected cheating and a rift with teammates. Reed led Augusta State to NCAA Division I titles in 2010 and 2011. A top-five player in the world?

What went wrong with Patrick Reed at the Bahamas?

After cameras caught him blatantly improving his line of play in a bunker at the Hero World Challenge, Patrick Reed was hit with a two-shot penalty. (David Cannon/Getty Images) Patrick Reeds’ round in The Bahamas took a sudden turn on the back nine on Friday — one that isn’t likely to help his credibility in the golf world.