Who won the Walker Cup in 1961?

Who won the Walker Cup in 1961?

The Americans won the match 9–3. The Walker Cup employs a combination of foursomes (alternate-shot) and singles competition and was originally the format used for the professional equivalent Ryder Cup. Up to 1961, 36 holes matches were played: four foursomes on the first day and eight singles matches on the second day.

Is the Walker Cup on TV at Royal Liverpool?

It’s an event not to be missed and NCG breaks down how you can make the most of the Walker Cup TV coverage available from Royal Liverpool. Follow all the action from the Walker Cup with NCG on Twitter.

What is the Walker Cup?

The official name is the Walker Cup Match (not "Matches" as in Ryder Cup Matches ). It is organised by The R&A and the United States Golf Association (USGA). In 1921 the Royal Liverpool Golf Club hosted an unofficial contest which was followed by official annual contests from 1922 through 1924.

Where are the Presidents Cup matches held?

They are held alternately in the U.S., and Ireland or Britain. The cup is named after George Herbert Walker who was president of the USGA in 1920 when the match was initiated. Walker is the grandfather and namesake of George H. W. Bush and great-grandfather of George W. Bush, the 41st and 43rd Presidents of the United States, respectively.