What happens if you hit an unplayable ball in golf?
Invoking the unplayable ball rule incurs a one-stroke penalty, and a lost ball results in the stroke-and-distance penalty. What this means, of course, is that you’re willing to climb up into the tree and take a swing at the ball. And if you did, you wouldn’t be the first.
What happens if you hit your golf ball out of the tree?
Playing it out of the tree is the only option that doesn’t carry a penalty, but is the least likely option because it means climbing the tree. Invoking the unplayable ball rule incurs a one-stroke penalty, and a lost ball results in the stroke-and-distance penalty.
Can You Drop a golf ball 20 feet off the ground?
Usually, this would involve dropping a ball within two club lengths of the spot where the original ball lay. However, doing this when your ball is 20 feet off the ground in a tree might not be the easiest thing to do, so the Rules make an exception for this situation.
Can you play the ball as It lies in golf?
Well, as tricky a shot as it may be, the player always has the option to play the ball as it lies. Sergio Garcia climbing up into a tree during the final round of the 2013 Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill is a prime example.