What is the difference between a double hit and a deflection?

What is the difference between a double hit and a deflection?

With the old rule, players had to distinguish what the ball hit and determine if any penalty would be assessed. With the change, a ball deflected by a double hit is the same as your ball hitting another player’s ball or any other object that could be in the way with the only potential penalty being play it where it lies.

What happens if the ball is accidentally deflected in golf?

This rule is consistent with the change they made for balls accidentally deflected by part of the player’s body when the ball is in motion, which also now holds no penalty. “Treating all accidental deflections the same no matter who or what caused them will simplify the Rules by providing consistency.”

What is the old double hit rule in golf?

The Old Double Hit Rule Golf’s old double hit rule, Rule 19, stated that if you hit your ball twice with one stroke you counted the extra impact as a stroke and incurred a one-shot penalty. The literature in this rule accounted for an impossible number of scenarios and made enforcement an arduous task for any rules official or player.

What happens if you hit the golf ball more than once?

Golf’s New Rules: Major Changes 2019 Rule: Under Rule 10.1a, if the player’s club accidentally hits the ball more than once during a single stroke: There will be no penalty and the ball will be played as it lies.