How many times can you hit a provisional golf ball?
You can hit the provisional ball as many times as you like until you reach the distance where your ball may be lost If you then find your original ball, then disregard the provisional and the number of shots you have played with it. If you don’t find your original ball, continue playing your provisional ball. 6.
What happens if you lose a provisional ball in golf?
If it transpires that the original ball is lost, in a penalty area, or out of bounds, you must continue with the provisional ball, under penalty of one stroke. If the original ball is found in bounds, you must continue with that ball and stop playing the provisional ball.
Do you have to announce a provisional in golf?
And you must use the word "provisional" in letting the other golfers in your group know what you are doing. "If you did not announce this (even if you intended to play a provisional ball) and played a ball from where the previous stroke was made, that ball is your ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance," the rule book states.
What is a provisional ball in golf?
Updated March 25, 2019 A "provisional ball," often shortened just to "provisional," is a second golf ball played by a golfer who believes his first ball (the stroke he just played) may be lost (but not in a penalty area or out of bounds). Official Definition in the Rule Book