What are the modern majors in golf?

What are the modern majors in golf?

The modern majors are considered to be The Masters, US Open, PGA and British Open (Open Championship). No one has one all four in the same calendar year, but when Tiger Woods won the 2001 Masters, he became the only player to win four consecutive major professional golf titles, therefore within one year although not in the same calendar year.

How many golfers have won all 4 majors?

Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods, Ben Hogan, Gary Player and Gene Sarazen. Five professional golfers have won all four of golf’s modern majors during their careers, an achievement known as a Career Grand Slam. The five players who have done this to date are: Gene Sarazen, Ben Hogan, Gary Player, Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods.

Who won four majors in a row on the LPGA Tour?

It took nearly 100 years before any other golfer joined Tommy Morris in winning four majors in a row, and it happened on the LPGA Tour. The golfer was Mickey Wright (pictured above). At the time, the four majors in women’s golf were the Women’s Western Open, U.S. Women’s Open, LPGA Championship and Titleholders Championship.

Who are the men’s major golf champions?

Chronological list of men’s major golf champions First major First major Majors won # Player Year Tournament U.S. Open 1 Willie Park Sr 1860 The Open Championship 2 Old Tom Morris 1861 The Open Championship 3 Andrew Strath 1865 The Open Championship 30 more rows …